Thursday, October 8, 2015

Old Books by Dead Nobel Laureates 2015

Congratulations to Svetlana Alexievich
The Belarusian writer has just been announced as the winner of the 2015 Nobel Prize in Literature. Last year at this time, Old Books by Dead Guys posted its first Old Books by Dead Nobel Laureates listing of all the novels, stories, and plays written by Nobel Prize-winning authors that have been reviewed at this blog. At that time 34 works had been reviewed. Since last year’s Nobel announcement, four new authors and 13 more works have been added to the total. Click on the links below to read the complete reviews.

Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson (1903 Nobel) Norway

Henryk Sienkiewicz (1905 Nobel) Poland

Rudyard Kipling (1907 Nobel) United Kingdom

Selma Lagerlöf (1909 Nobel) Sweden

Paul von Heyse (1910 Nobel) Germany

Maurice Maeterlinck (1911 Nobel) Belgium

Gerhart Hauptmann (1912 Nobel) Germany

Knut Hamsun (1920 Nobel) Norway

Anatole France (1921 Nobel) France

Wladyslaw Reymont (1924 Nobel) Poland

Sinclair Lewis (1930 Nobel) United States of America

Eugene O’Neill (1936 Nobel) United States of America

Pearl S. Buck (1938 Nobel) United States of America (raised in China)

Hermann Hesse (1946 Nobel) Switzerland (born in Germany)

See you next year!

No comments:

Post a Comment